Positive Maturity, Inc.

 

Calendar of Events

Positive Maturity Staff


Penny Kakoliris, Executive Director
penny@positivematurity.org


Marie Freeman, Chief Finance Director

marief@positivematurity.org

Barbara Smith, Assistant Finance Director
barbaras@positivematurity.org

Keith Dunn, Communications Coordinator

keithd@positivematurity.org


Debra Brown, Administrative Assistant/Receptionist

debrab@positivematurity.org


Sandra Smith Geriatric Social Service Information/Referral and MedAssist
shbsmith@positivematurity.org

LaQuita Smith, SCP Director
laquitas@positivematurity.org

Gloretha Watkins, SCP Coordinator
glorethaw@positivematurity.org

Deborah Gaddis, FGP Director
deborahg@positivematurity.org

Cormelia Donnell, FGP Coordinator
cormeliad@positivematurity.org

Sandra Sporman, AWARE Coordinator
sandras@positivematurity.org

LaRue Lockhart, RSVP Director
laruel@positivematurity.org


Johnna Pannell, Blount Co. RSVP Coordinator
johnnap@positivematurity.org

Juanita Macon, Jefferson Co. RSVP Coordinator
juanitam@positivematurity.org

Marvin Copes, Shelby Co. RSVP Coordinator
marvinc@positivematurity.org


Cindy Smith, Walker Co. RSVP Coordinator

cindys@positivematurity.org

PJ Vining, RSVP Data Entry Coordinator
pjv@positivematurity.org

June Brown, Shepherd Center Director
juneb@positivematurity.org

Ed Myles, Shepherd Center Site Manager
edwardm@positivematurity.org

Roxann Cox, Shepherd Center Administrative Assistant
​roxannc@positivematurity.org

Resources

Whether you are looking for volunteer opportunities to keep you active in your community, skills to enhance your employment opportunities or resources for your aging parents, Positive Maturity is here to help.

Over the course of 40 years the aging population has changed dramatically.  Today's adults (50+) are more educated, healthier, and are working longer.  They are caring for their parents, starting encore careers and giving back to their communities. Alabama's aging community is vocal about their needs and desires to remain independent and in their homes for as long as possible and Positive Maturity is here to help meet those needs.

Positive Maturity was established in 1970 by the Independent Presbyterian Church in Birmingham, Alabama.  As one of the first senior organizations in Jefferson County, Positive Maturity was created to assess and meet the needs of the aging population. Soon after the creation of Positive Maturity, the state of Alabama created local  Area Agencies on Aging to take the lead in serving the basic needs of the aging population and   Positive Maturity  refocused its' mission to keep the aging population actively engaged in their communities and living independently for as long as possible.  In 1972, Positive Maturity became a United Way partner and a proud sponsor for Senior Corps programs (RSVP, Senior Companion, and Foster Grandparent Volunteer Program) through the Corporation for National and Community Service.